Hot Pink and Peach

27 Mar

Spring is definitely here, and with it, an uptick in torch time. It’s almost time for another oxygen run. The regular practice has been great, and improvement is coming, slowly but surely.

I haven’t done work towards the fly trap anemone, aside from scheming how to either make a sculpture, or a murrini that can be made into an undersea-type bead. The peachy glass I have is pretty stiff, which would be great for sculpture, but I’m pretty sure I’ll have thermal cracking issues if I go the sculptural route. So I think I’ll shoot for a murrini, although I’m foreseeing some technical issues with that as well.

In the meantime, I’ve been getting familiar with the peach glass, in other ways, through basic beads and hollows.

The stiff glass is great for hollow beads, and I’m working on a cohesive set for a peach necklace.

I’m also starting to get the hang of Clio, a hot pink glass that is a bit tricky to use.

Wowza, huh? I’d like about fifteen more, please. I’m thinking I’ll try to make a matching one this evening.

Other than that, I’ve been trying to envision more interesting ways to construct a commission I have. Right now, I can do the basic elements, but the end design is pretty plain, and I think some blue dichro sparkle is in order. However, I am still pretty much Amateur Hour over here, so it’s taking a while to come up with something I feel confident about.

There’s the update!

Leave a Reply

