Goals and Intimidation

10 Mar

The is a video making some rounds online, of a venus flytrap sea anemone, which is an AMAZING animal. Look at it!

venusflytrapanemone

Photo from the NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research

Is it not stunning, intriguing, and definitely pink?  I want to melt some glass into the shape of this animal, and while I think I know most of what I need to know to do this, there are still some questions. I have a beautiful glass that is an exact match, and I know what I need to do to lay down and pull the noodly appendages, but I’m not sure about whether I should be keeping that big pink base warm, or if I can safely let it go cool without it cracking.

If I have to keep it warm, I think I’ll have to make the base, lay down all the dots for the appendages, and then anneal it. Later, I can go back an add individual noodles. Sources estimate there are approximately a billion of them.

Then there are more questions about the base. It will be another large hunk of glass, because this thing would basically be built to fall over and shatter pretty much immediately. I think I need a supporting structure, maybe a second coral winding up, to help anchor it. Would I have to keep that whole thing warm? Can I garage it and assemble the parts later?

It’s safe to say this is biting off more than I can chew, but I’m going to do it anyway, and hopefully learn something from the failure. Unfortunately, I’m guessing this failure will look like malformed genitalia.

Leave a Reply

